top of page

The Fabulous Fivimart

Last week I had my Vietnamese initiation and now Michael is having his. I am referring to the stomach/diarrhea festival. Poor guy, he has it worse than I had. It is so hard to know the how, what and why of it all and how long you should let it take its course. We have decided to stay away from street food for now and pay the extra money for restaurants or cook ourselves....ugh times a thousand.

Last night we took one of the most hellish of cab rides during the worst time of day to go to a recommended restaurant. Michael was just beginning his 'ick' and the ride did not help. So many times I want to take a video, photo or describe the madness of traffic here and think it is best for loved ones not to see. It is not for the weak of heart. Just a taste is imagine no lanes, no lights, no rules, excessive honking and everyone thinks they rule the road.....that is only a taste of Hanoi traffic. You fill in the bits where you see fit.

Our destination was a Polish restaurant on a quiet street....thank heaven...and as usual nobody else but us and one other man. (I do not know how these people stay in business?) Michael thought it would be good for his stomach, but he was at the point where nothing would be good except Sprite. My dinner was the best I have had yet in Hanoi and it is Polish?!? I spoke nothing to Michael of my pleasure and in fact had to hide my plate because the site of it...well you know.

Today, I left Michael at home and we desperately needed groceries. Our most successful place yet was in West Lake which is way too far a journey, but was willing to take. I tried to find something closer and did though there was no guarantee. It appeared to be a 14 minute walk, which means nothing in terms of reality. The directions on Google Maps was completely wrong (no surprise), but found it. The place is called Fivimart and it was as good as the grocery we found in West Lake. It is close, prices are good and found everything I needed. I went down every isle and felt joy at almost every turn. I cannot find an onion in the city (yeah....an onion!!), but happy with my finds. They even had some frozen food (rare by the way in case you are wondering). Most exciting find you wonder....mini packets of condensed milk to make my own Vietnamese coffee. Thank you Fivimart.

As always, to end on a funny note because there are so many: I may have been the first or at least a rare white person in the Fivimart because I had staff stop and stare, point, etc. I looked to be sure my pants were zipped...yes, toilet paper stuck to my flip flop....no. Just me and it is just the way it is.

condensed-milk.jpg


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page