top of page

My Life Was Changed by Cuban Coffee

I have been fairly devoted to meditation now for the past year. I had understood its importance many years ago, but was not able to do it consistently, honestly and long enough to truly obtain its value. This past year required some serious emotional support and guidance and though I thank all my friends and family, I must give my best friend 'Meditation' the most credit.

To all of you "Thank You!" from the bottom of my heart.

Over the past year I have tried many different types of meditation to start and end my day with. Some have helped me with sleeping, some to deal with anxiety, sadness and loss and one of the most successful has been meditation to become more aware of death and impermanence. For some of you the last one may scare or concern you. The purpose and benefits of meditating on impermanence and death is it forces you to become aware of the now. To put it bluntly, we all know for sure that we are all going to die, but we do not know how or when. When you fully wrap your head around that concept it wakes you up to reality quickly and you realize the most important things in life. It is not about visualizing or wanting death. You gain insight into what is most valuable and focuses you to live present. If this could all come in a pill, I would take it, but the reality is that the best things in life require effort...at times a lot!

This is all pretty heavy stuff and I will now lighten things up a bit. How has Cuban coffee changed my life???? Well, in my efforts to become a better meditator I have tried to meditate first thing in the morning....without coffee!?! At times it is quite early and not being a morning person you need to appreciate how hard this is. I have tried drinking coffee first, but then the problem is I cannot relax and concentrate. I have not found the perfect balance.....until now! After my incredible holiday to Portugal, I returned with some wonderful Cuban coffee I bought in Lisbon. It was last week, a Wednesday I believe and I decided to make some Cuban coffee as I had many, many mornings. This morning was different because I intended to drink it before meditating. The magic, revelation, moment of life change was to only have a few sips. It was hot and needed to cool anyway. I immediately felt a perk in my attention while still sleepy. I chose to meditate and finish the rest of my fabulous Cuban coffee after my 30 minute escape. I can honestly say I was able to go deeply into my meditation. I went there quickly, confidently and felt a euphoria and clarity I have not felt in a very long time and it should be said that this was a difficult meditation practice that I performed many times before. This incredible feeling lasted for almost the entire day. Things that normally bother me stopped. I was fully aware and present. I felt the hope, joy and confidence I had been seeking for so long. It was truly wonderful and hoped this was not an isolated moment.

After several days I was not able to replicate the experience, though realized I did not master my technique. This morning I followed my ritual to the tea and I was able to get close. (I highly recommend a good night sleep and you wake up without stress.)

It should also be said that as much as I love Cuban coffee, the country and its people, it likely did not play a large role in my life changing moment. It does make for a great introduction to a blog to get you interested though.

For those of you that meditate, please continue and spread the goodness. For those of you who do not, it is not for everyone. If my story has affected, inspired you or got you curious then I am all the happier to share. I use an 'app' on my phone called "Insight Timer". There are many different guided meditations from 5 - 60 min. Also, there is relaxing music if that is all you need. My belief is when it comes to being happy and hopeful you need to do what works for you and only you. Meditation is not a quick fix. I was able to achieve what I did last Wednesday because of so much practice and finding my happy medium. Putting it simply, none of us want to die or have to deal with death....ever. What I want and beginning to see the benefits of are that my fears and anxiety are reducing, life does not seem so overwhelming and I have realized how important it is to live now. Also,

value the people we love and feel incredibly grateful for being able to be given one more sunrise and one more day. I still have my bad days that all the mediation in the world won't help. The point is that it helps. Wishing each and every one of you happiness and if you are not there, make it your priority to find it.

P.S. I am posting a few meditations that have worked for me. I encourage you to find what works for you.

Moriam S. Balogun - Morning Manifesting & Creation Meditation. Ajahn Achalo - Contemplating the Death of Oneself - Meditation.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page