top of page

Joy is Where You Choose to Find it.


After my last blog speaking of the challenges in my life, I want to share something positive. It was important to share how I feel at this point in my life and I chose my words carefully. There can’t be happiness without the sad, the beauty without the ugly or the good without the bad. The Ying and the Yang. I do not embrace my hardships, I simply try to understand them so that I can move forward to something better.

I have lost my path to be aware of my surroundings. I have been so caught up in how frustrated I am by the chaos, pollution and lack of understanding that I have become cold and disconnected. I will try very hard, again, to see beyond all of that and notice small things, hidden things. I will try harder to be aware of something funny and strange and appreciate it.

Another important aspect of my life in Vietnam is to not get so upset about my student’s bad behavior or lack of interest in what I am trying to teach. There are many moments of wonder, humor and joy if I allow myself to see it. The majority of my students are young children and they are at the best times in their lives before the pressure of parents and society is put upon them. There are few things more amazing than the joy, silliness and humor that a child can give. Children are in a state of absorption and have no editing button and that is what is the beauty. It is an endless source of inspiration.

Don’t get me wrong, when life is overwhelming and not enjoyable you need to deal with that. As human beings we all deal with that in different ways. Myself, I close myself and become automatic. This is not a good way to live. I wish I could tell you that I am stronger and more positive than I am. I am just as human as everyone. I could not get beyond the darkness without the support, encouragement and humor of friends and family. My gratitude is immense.

Today, I will go to one of my schools and paint the ceiling of my classroom baby blue and put big puffy clouds all over it. Nobody asked me to do this and I am not being paid. There is no guarantee that the children will love it or that anyone will appreciate it. The reason why I am doing this is because I truly love my kids, my school and want to make this contribution. More importantly I am doing this because I want to and it is the beauty and the joy I am seeking in life. If you cannot find the joy in life then sometimes you need to make it yourself.

I hope that when you have those moments of difficulty in your lives that you can create some joy. If you can’t make it, then look really hard to see it, feel it. It is everywhere, everyday, if you choose to open your eyes, heart and mind. Good luck!

(Note: The image I chose appears at first glance to be an orchid, but actually is an insect. It is an orchid praying mantis.)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page