top of page

Hang Ma St. is for wonder, enticement, sparkle and happiness.

Today, on my way to observe a class, I made a point of stopping on a particular street in the Old Quarter of Hanoi that is known specifically for its party decorations, wrapping materials, shiny/sparkly/colorful things for whatever. The glorious thing about the Old Quarter is that whatever you are looking for you can likely find it if you are patient and have a ‘treasure hunter’ spirit within you.

As the taxi approaches Hang Ma Street, amongst the usual madness of a congested market, I immediately realize this is the place I need to be and tell the driver to ‘STOP!!!’ There is so much color, texture and things that require you to come closer and look. It is a street that is like all streets in this area filled to capacity beyond belief and a repetition of goods. This is Hang Ma Street and it is for everything you need to throw a party. I am here for Halloween makeup and whatever else catches my fancy. I quickly realize that time is not on my side as I revert back to being a child again. I want to plan for a party that I am not aware until now that I will throw someday.

Every store makes incredible effort to attract you like a mating ritual with glitter. It takes time to adjust your eyes and your senses to everything that is going on. Like a venus fly trap, these stores piled on top of each other fight to attract you to there beauty and entice you inside where you can not resist the offerings. Though most stores look the same at first glance you must take time. Many items are not what they seem at first glance as they may transform into something spectacular or spin or whatever your imagination desires. After all this is for a party…indulge!

I find my makeup and my glitter and as I step outside a man has pointed out that my shoes are in need of a polish and repair. It has been offered before and today is a day of indulgence and I provide my shoes with the needed spa treatment for a ridiculous price of $1.50. He offers me plastic shoes to step into while he performs his magic. It is at this time that I am unable to move anywhere and take this opportunity to observe my surroundings. This is an incredible moment of discovery. Here I am, in the middle of a wonderful madness of spectacular, getting my shoes polished, watching the most fabulous parade that repeats itself each and every day. This is Vietnam and only one very small, itsty bitsy, teeny weeny slice of so much more.

You can choose to be irritated and overwhelmed by it all or stop, look, listen and take it all in. This is the way life should be and if you want to get off the bus there is a stop coming up. I think I will choose to stay on and see what is up ahead.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page