top of page

Ready, Get Set.....Go!!!

I am back from a wonderful holiday and did not want it to end. This was the best kind of adventure because it had beauty, relaxation, surprises and inspiration.

Though Hanoi was not decided as the place we would stay, it will have to be home for a while. Other opportunities that could have taken us elsewhere have not worked out...yet. This is a time to believe in fate and dig deep for faith and new perspectives. Since returning I do not find the chaos of Ha Noi nearly as daunting, but many of the irritations, like the mosquitos, remain.

We are moving again and have found a new apartment in a better area. Better as in more central, cafes, restaurants, sidewalks you can actually walk on. After exploring the neighborhood, some magnificent discoveries were found: a grocery store nearby, a specialty market, a Baskin Robins (don't judge!), and a beautiful Buddhist temple to escape the madness and find inner peace. Will I fall in love with Ha Noi? Time will tell. We remain open to the possibilities.

Apartment found...check. Now we both need jobs. We have been without work for 4 months now and it is time to make some deposits and slow down the withdrawals. I am excited and nervous about teaching. It is all so new. Will they like me? Will I like them? Will I damage their brains?

I remain passionate about doing my art. The trip inspired me, I will have space to work soon, but the peace inside my head is not quite there yet. I am in an interesting and uncomfortable state of mind now. I left comfort and security to seek adventure and now here it is. I am trying to find balance between the two. How much discomfort is necessary before one sees the light I wonder? For some, if they walked a day in my life they would think....horrible situation. Others, may think...wow, this is really cool. Honestly, like life, it is true that you must suffer a bit to truly appreciate the joy and see the beauty. For myself, I still wonder at times what the hell I am doing here.

Most of us need to know what our future holds and what tomorrow will bring. Many need a routine, a consistency, a life that they won't admit is predictable, but it is. Yes, this life of mine may seem exciting, adventurous and indeed it is. It is also inconsistent, full of surprises, filled with illogical explanations and most certainly without certainty. I have had life smack me hard in the face here (many times) and I have also had it caress me in the sweetest most loving way. I hate the fear, but sadly, it is a part of me more often than I want to admit. It is up to me, only me, to decide how I want to make my place, my statement in this world. I need Vietnam more than it needs me and I have a lot of work to do if I want to be more than just amazing tattoos and an outstanding moustache.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page