top of page

Is it possible a shampooing can be close to sex???

Yesterday I went in to have my second haircut ever in Vietnam. It was a fairly fancy place that recently opened on our street and not only wanted to support local business, but Michael had been prior and his great haircut only cost $10.00. I went in on a Saturday and it was notably busy with ladies getting all the fancy treatments I was not. I asked how much to verify and was told 250,000 VND ($12.50) for cut and shampoo. Though I did not feel I needed a shampoo, for only the equivalent of $2.50 more for a shampoo I thought…why not!

Let me tell you this was not your average or even an incredible shampoo. It was exceptional beyond belief and considering going back once a week.

An older lady greeted me who was be my shampoo lady. The actual shampoo part was satisfying enough with a very good massage of the scalp, temples and back of head. I have had that before of this quality, but never for $2.50. It is what happened after that which made it exceptional beyond belief.

After the rinse, she began to run warm water over my entire face, which was a bit unnerving and unexpected, but adjusted myself. She actually washed my entire face and ears and massaged the face as well. She rinsed my face again and may have added moisturizer to continue massaging, but I am honestly not sure since at this point I was in some kind of dream state of euphoria. The ear cleansing was my other necessary adjustment of slight discomfort. She was really digging in those ears as if she was trying to get out some small animal. I was a bit concerned. Ultimately, I felt that I was in capable hands, but wondering….”Is this really the standard shampoo or is my head, face and ears a complete disgrace!!!”

I could not believe this lasted as long as it did and the treatment was still not finished. She then put conditioner on my hair and massaged my head again?!?! “Lord almighty, I was wondering if I signed up for something I was not aware of and this was going to cost more!” After completion, I was notably a bit wobbly trying to maneuver myself to the chair for the haircut, which at this point I forgot that I came in for. I was provided a wonderful glass of tea and then got a great haircut by a young man. It was all very attentive and asked if I was happy every step of the way and even approached by the owner asking me all kinds of interesting questions such as was if I interested in dying my hair, where I worked and what kind of dog I had.

It was all an incredible, incredible experience that was so unexpected. I want to tell them how amazing they all are, but cannot at this point. I plan to promote that place and go on a more regular basis for the shampoo of course. I will be horribly let down if it is not the same the second time around. By the way, did I mention that for one of the most incredible and euphoric experiences of your life involving hands, shampoo and perfectly warm water, the cost is only $2.50!!!! I never thought a shampoo would upstage a haircut. Phenomenal!!

shampoo.jpg


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page