top of page

It is a New Year...again. Looking forward.

It was my intention to have a ‘Birthday Blog’ but just never got around to it. This will now be called the ‘Post Birthday Blog’. Oops, now it is February!

It is a time of reflection as always with a New Year, another year older and next month is yet another new year which is Chinese New Year. That is a lot of reflection on your life!! I must admit, this year I am quite proud of myself with being able to say I moved to Vietnam. It was the closing of one chapter in my life and starting another. I wish I knew that this is where I want to be.

This is the first time I can say that I do not view January 1st as a new beginning. It was in fact the day I moved to Vietnam as a new beginning. Since my time here I have experienced some of the highest highs and the lowest lows. All are important emotions and lead to learning and growth. Though Michael and I are on a similar path, I am having my own personal journey of discovery. It can be so frustrating not being clear on communication or understanding what you see, what you hear or experience, but that is what comes with the package. Some of my priorities have changed and I am going through some confusion. As much as I wanted to have a clearer direction, I guess I need more time.

I have struggled with this particular blog episode because I wanted to give you all revelation and self discovery. I wanted to tell you that this is where I want to be and I am doing exactly what I need and want to be doing. All I can share is what I know….NOW.

Is Hanoi where I want to be? I cannot answer that, yet. I wish I knew. There are challenges I cannot overcome and need to resolve or move on. There are great reasons to stay and reasons to go. There is a whole world of other amazing places and cultures to explore.

Is teaching Kindergarten the best choice? I also do not know. At this time I like the little ones, but would like an age of 3 – 5 instead of 2 years old. At times I miss teaching adults and there is always the option to balance the two. Again, still too soon to decide what works best for me.

Is my art progressing? Yes. This could be a main reason to stay in Hanoi. I would rather stay because I love Hanoi, but art is very important to my soul. The art scene is a reflection of the culture changing and opening there eyes and minds. I like the idea of being a part of change, yet miss an existing art scene. Having opportunity present itself to me in Hanoi is a big incentive and my first show will let me know how my art is received.

Viet Painting 2 of 1.JPG

Too soon to say. I need to go through more challenge to wake up. I love that I am in a different world and that I am reminded of the need to be awake and aware. I believe I am on the right path, but may have to divert, change lanes, roads and direction to fully discover. Also, this question is a life long pursuit.

I hope you all find the joy, inspiration and adventure you desire!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page