top of page

Seeing with my eyes closed.

It is Sunday. I should be going to the Buddhist temple at least once a week to relieve my stress, frustration…whatever. I know the joy and calm it brings me, yet I choose not too. As much as I would like to find peace and serenity in a cocktail every night, it just never happens.

Today I made the decision to go again. Perhaps Sundays are not the best days to go to the temple due to the amount of people, children and cell phones….really, cell phones. As I enter through the gate I am greeted by the smell of burning things (likely fake money, or real for those that are truly devotional) and incense. There are a lot of people and I accept that I am amongst others that want something whether it is health, wealth, good luck, spiritual enlightenment or plain and simple peace and happiness.

I walk up the steps, remove my shoes and find a spot away from the crowd. As I find the comfort in my spot, I look around and try to take in all that I see. Some may find this place gaudy with all the gold, red and the excess of spiritual devotion, but I love it. There is so much to look at and focus on. This is a world within a world and a place that I can escape from the chaos and the troubles of life in Hanoi.

I quickly realize that seeing with my eyes is not what is important at this moment. I find a more comfortable sitting position and I close my eyes. This is truly when the magic begins if you choose to go there. When you remove one of your senses then the others become stronger. The first thing I see is with my nose: There are many strong smells, but they all work in unison as if they are ingredients to a fine perfume. The strongest smells are from the exotic and spicy varieties of incense, followed by the many bouquets of lilies. The slighter essences are from ripe pomellos (large grapefruits), burning paper and a drop or two of human scent and the woven grass from the mat below me.

The next thing I see is with my ears: There is chanting, reading, singing from a monk. It is at times melodic and with rhythm. There is a slight hush of people talking within the temple and a bit more activity outside as if voices did not carry. If you go deeper there is a hum to the city sound outside the gates, but I choose to keep my attention inside.

The last thing I see is with my skin: Though this is not the intense heat of the summer, the air remains heavy with humidity. A welcoming breeze caresses the back of my neck from a nearby window. An occasional drop of sweat trickles down my face and back to remind me that I am alive.

I want to clear my mind, but instead focus on all the sensory stimulation that surrounds me. Occasionally I open my eyes to what surrounds me and then return to the smells, sounds and sights when my eyes are closed. I enjoy this reality better. When it comes time to open my eyes wide again I am able to see a bit clearer. The clarity I see is with more peace and more awareness of all that is around me. Whether I go to the temple or find a spot in my home, I realize the need to see, smell, taste, feel and hear the most important things of life. I need to work harder so that I can see better. There are too many distractions and ugly things to cloud the mind and Hanoi has so much to offer to excite all the senses if you are willing to see.

I will try harder to see the best of life. I wish the same for you.

It is Sunday. I should be going to the Buddhist temple at least once a week to relieve my stress, frustration…whatever. I know the joy and calm it brings me, yet I choose not too. As much as I would like to find peace and serenity in a cocktail every night, it just never happens.

Today I made the decision to go again. Perhaps Sundays are not the best days to go to the temple due to the amount of people, children and cell phones….really, cell phones. As I enter through the gate I am greeted by the smell of burning things (likely fake money, or real for those that are truly devotional) and incense. There are a lot of people and I accept that I am amongst others that want something whether it is health, wealth, good luck, spiritual enlightenment or plain and simple peace and happiness.

I walk up the steps, remove my shoes and find a spot away from the crowd. As I find the comfort in my spot, I look around and try to take in all that I see. Some may find this place gaudy with all the gold, red and the excess of spiritual devotion, but I love it. There is so much to look at and focus on. This is a world within a world and a place that I can escape from the chaos and the troubles of life in Hanoi.

I quickly realize that seeing with my eyes is not what is important at this moment. I find a more comfortable sitting position and I close my eyes. This is truly when the magic begins if you choose to go there. When you remove one of your senses then the others become stronger. The first thing I see is with my nose: There are many strong smells, but they all work in unison as if they are ingredients to a fine perfume. The strongest smells are from the exotic and spicy varieties of incense, followed by the many bouquets of lilies. The slighter essences are from ripe pomellos (large grapefruits), burning paper and a drop or two of human scent and the woven grass from the mat below me.

The next thing I see is with my ears: There is chanting, reading, singing from a monk. It is at times melodic and with rhythm. There is a slight hush of people talking within the temple and a bit more activity outside as if voices did not carry. If you go deeper there is a hum to the city sound outside the gates, but I choose to keep my attention inside.

The last thing I see is with my skin: Though this is not the intense heat of the summer, the air remains heavy with humidity. A welcoming breeze caresses the back of my neck from a nearby window. An occasional drop of sweat trickles down my face and back to remind me that I am alive.

I want to clear my mind, but instead focus on all the sensory stimulation that surrounds me. Occasionally I open my eyes to what surrounds me and then return to the smells, sounds and sights when my eyes are closed. I enjoy this reality better. When it comes time to open my eyes wide again I am able to see a bit clearer. The clarity I see is with more peace and more awareness of all that is around me. Whether I go to the temple or find a spot in my home, I realize the need to see, smell, taste, feel and hear the most important things of life. I need to work harder so that I can see better. There are too many distractions and ugly things to cloud the mind and Hanoi has so much to offer to excite all the senses if you are willing to see.

I will try harder to see the best of life. I wish the same for you.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page